Gentle is not weak.

Now I’m not talking about that weak, mealy mouthed, “aw shucks” false humility junk.  Even though I have been guilty of falling into that trap more than once.  No I’m speaking about that real true gentleness.  Being gentle from a place of strength and security.  When you and I not just pay lip service to, but really believe that we should not fear men who can only kill the body, but rather fear God who can destroy the soul, then we can act with such strength that we have no need to be hard.

So why should we be gentle?  How about because we are told to.  1 Peter 3:15– “be gentle to all men.”  Even and especially when we disagree.

Gentle men is what God commands.

Christian men should be striving to be true gentle-men.  We don’t need to fight and strive against those that disagree with us. Instead we should have that calm, self-assured strength that comes from being right, (righteous) not the cocky(my weakness) arrogant, self-righteous approach, because we know we are not self-righteous but instead made righteous by God.
I have been guilty more than once of falling into the defensive mode when discussing why I believe in God, even with family members. And invariably latter that day I’m kicking myself for losing my cool.  I get all tied up in “defending” the faith and MY position?  When what I should be focusing on is letting God use me to say what he wants said.
God does not need me to defend him, but He is gracious to allow me to be part of that conversation and helping to strengthen my faith.
What do you think?  Can we confront others without being confrontational? 
