What have I been accepting without really looking at the truth behind it all?

Bored and also to avoid doing some writing I decided to to put on a movie.  So as I am watching this movie, which by the way I liked enough to purchase on DVD several years ago. While I was watching I became aware of several flaws in the philosophy of the story.  I won’t go into allow it here, otherwise this would turn into a 10,000 word post.  But here is the thing, just like blind faith,unexamined acceptance is not what we as Christians are instructed to do.
Before accepting a philosophy of life I should be looking deeper at what it really means, how does it line up with Christian ethics.  For example the idea of caring for the poor is a great, but it is not meant to be a blanket statement.  Now there are those that thru birth, disability, both mental and physical, can not and may never be able to care for themselves, but as to those who through bad choices are poor Leviticus speaks clearly on how to care for these, and Paul says “He who will not work, shall not eat”, and Jesus says “you will always have the poor”. Yet I have more than once bought into ideas that run counter to this.
That is just one and a very simple example of it.  I am becoming more and more sensitive to this.  I need to slow down and take the time to examine what I have bought into  and what it is  I am really accepting when I accept these philosophy.  After all Colossians 2:8 makes it pretty clear: “Beware lest any man spoil you thru philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ.”
This is just one example, what other areas have you found a flaw in your thought?
