English: Resurrection of Christ

English: Resurrection of Christ (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One of the guys at my church has a tendency to be a bit aggressive, at least for my taste, when it comes to talking about Jesus to people outside the church.  Am I being overly sensitive? Too timid?  Maybe his approach is needed more, but I think for me if I did not know Jesus I would be turned off by his way of doing things.

I was thinking of Peter cutting off the ear of one of those sent to arrest Christ, John 18:10.  I hate the idea of “balance” when it comes to living the Christian life.  I don’t think it’s about balance, it’s about being extreme.  How else do you explain ideas like love your enemy.  But do we try too hard to bring about the good while not understanding the great?
Do those pressured into a profession of faith stick?  Or is the gentle reasoned approach more likely to produce a changed life?  I’m sure there is a place for both, a time to push and a time to pull, but what is the best.  Does the highly aggressive approach to evangelism work, but when it doesn’t does it bring reproach?  Does a more gentle approach produce fewer results but leave room for follow-up?
What brings the greatest glory to God?  After all isn’t that what we are created for?  Maybe it’s just my bent to want to take the more gentle approach, 2 Timothy 2:24, but am I doing all I can?
Not sure there is a best answer and I suppose different personalities would have different answers,

but I am wondering what you think.

Enhanced by Zemanta
